Soapbox: publisher's perspective |

Seven Deadly Sins

Soapbox: Publisher's Perspective | 1 June 2017

Have you ever heard of these? They are an old, probably “middle ages”, warning programme designed by the Church to get the people to behave! Somewhat like the Ten Commandments received by Moses on Mount Sinai, these are rules of behaviour for our lives.

What is great about them is that they are wonderful old and very much forgotten words, but what they stand for isn’t… here they are:

  • Greed
  • Lust
  • Gluttony
  • Sloth
  • Wrath
  • Envy
  • Pride

Do you understand them? (if not get online and look them up!)

I don’t think there is a particular order of nastiness, or indeed damnation for succumbing to those, and as you may note they don’t include all the sins available to humanity by a long shot! There’s no mention of murder, rape, theft, adultery, treason, fraud, or corruption but if we stretch our imagination a little, perhaps all of the major crimes come about as a result of our indulgence in one or more of these “SDS”s!

Greed and Envy certainly could lead to corruption and theft, possibly murder especially if a little wrath is thrown in too!

Pride can lead to fraud, Lust to rape and adultery, Sloth to corruption and fraud, Gluttony to obesity and again corruption.

So basically the world’s evils really do start with these archaeic words, even though most people don’t know what they mean!

But if you match them with their opposites, you will quickly understand why we have to not only live by the Seven Cardinal Virtues but use them daily to overcome their deadly counterparts:

  • Greed is matched and overcome by Charity
  • Gluttony is defeated by Temperance and living with restraint
  • Lust is cooled by purity and defeated by Chastity
  • Wrath is tempered by patience and eliminated by Forgiveness
  • Pride is controlled by modesty and overcome by Humility
  • Envy is overcome by industry and Diligence

So why am I telling you all this? Well, of course to live happy, balanced lives free from stress or heartache. We ourselves need to live by these rules, trying hardest to hit the positives every time, but more than that, when we are looking for leaders shouldn’t we honestly ask ourselves what they stand for, not what they say, but what they do? Is it greed, wrath, sloth, envy, pride, lust and gluttony or it is purity, temperance, charity, diligence, patience, kindness and humility?

If it’s the first be prepared for a boasting, egoist journey to chaos, if it’s the second be prepared for… nothing… just a quiet peaceful life!

The vote is over.  What do you think we got…?

Alistair G. Speirs